September 18, 2010

  • My New Rig

    Case: Antec 900 Series
    Power Supply: Corsair 650W
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
    Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @ 2.8GHz (OC to 3.5GHz)
    Memory: 4GB G. Skill DDR3 1333
    Monitor: Hanns-G 27.5″ HDLCD @ 1920 x 1200
    Disc Drive: LG CD/DVD Combo Drive w/LightScribe
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series
    Hard Drive: 1 x 500GB internal Western Digital SATA drive, 1 x 500GB External Western Digital MyBook
    Graphics Card: EVGA nVidia 9800 GT
    Capture Card: AverMedia HD DVR
    Network Card: Linksys internal WiFi adapter
    Mouse: Logitech MX518
    Keyboard: Adesso Flexible 

    I think that’s everything. I showed you mine, now show me yours…. 

Comments (5)

  • Did you build that baby?  What are you going to use it for?

  • @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace - yes, I built it. It’s use? Entertainment and Life Management. lol. I just got Worms Reloaded (which just came out a few weeks ago, and is crashing more often than working) and I’ll be putting some serious hours into it in the near future (provided it runs properly!).

  • Lol…. I’m drooling…. Nice rig man. I just blew two capacitors in my 8600GT, so I’m without a gaming pc for the moment. In all reality, with all the time I’ve put into my business lately, I haven’t had a bit of time to play anything, which makes me sad…. but I’m going to try to make time to relax and play a little.

    I see you’re still using the Antec 900. I love that case. I’ve built several gaming rigs for clients in the last year, and none of the cases I’ve used for them have even come close to the cooling power of my 900. It’s a bit noisy compared to others, but that’s a small price to pay for serious airflow. I’m loving the specs of your rig though…. I’ve I wasn’t dumping all my money into college loans and improving my business…. I would build myself a new one. Have fun!

  • @respawn87 - Heck, I’ve got 2 900′s. They are noisy, but man can they keep a system cool. I’ve got two 8800 GTS 512′s if you want one of them. They both work, I just needed to switch to a single-bay card so I could get my capture card in the PCI-E x1 slot directly below my x16 slot. The funny thing is, my single-bay 9800 GT specs match the dual-bay 8800 GTS almost exactly. It’s a 6.9 on the Windows experience scale, so I’m happy with it. You should pick up a copy of Worms Reloaded on Steam. I haven’t played Worms since the days of Windows 98, and now it’s back and my computer supports online gaming this time (the 28kbps fax modem in my old Gateway P5-120 didn’t support online gaming). A lax game of worms from time to time will keep you in the gaming world without causing a brain overload.

  • @vwagenjetta - I sent you a message about the 8800 GTS. I know what you mean about the specs… that was one of the issues people had when the 9800 GT first came out. People were complaining that they paid all that money for a new card when they could have stuck with their old 8800′s. But for your purposes it is a good solution to the double bay 8800 problem. I was satisfied with the 8600 GT for the time I had it. It ran Crysis, Far Cry 2, and of course CSS like a charm.

    And yeah man, it made me happy to see Worms Reloaded released. I’m like you, it’s been years since I touched the Worms games. I never got to play online either. Should be fun.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *